Gurney Drive: Penang Fried Kway Teow

Penang is famous for its local authentic delicacies. So when my friend told me that I could get some Penang lovin’ at Ang Mo Kio central, I was thrilled. The menu was overwhelming but I decided to follow my craving, Fried Kway Teow.

Gurney DriveIf this is what they really serve in Penang, I’m going to fly there and gorge myself to death. Its savoury, tasty and not oily at all. I actually prefer this rendition of the fried kway teow as compared to the dark and sweet-tasting ones of our local hawkers. My dish took longer than my friend’s Assam Laksa, but when it was served up hot and smoking, I guessed the wait was worth it. The portion is pretty small though.

Gurney Drive is a famous food heaven in Penang for its local hawker food. And this is what the eatery is named after. Tucked away in a little corner at Ang Mo Kio Central, Gurney Drive aims to bring a little piece of Penang to Singapore. An impressing menu to boast, you will be spoiled for choices. I will be back for sure, to try out another of their speciality dish, Assam Laksa.

Penang Fried Kway Teow S$6.90
Jubilee Square
61 Ang Mo Kio Avenue 8
#01-07 to 10 (next to Blk 722)
Singapore 569814

One thought on “Gurney Drive: Penang Fried Kway Teow”

  1. You should also try their lor bak, Penang prawn noodles and the Penang rojak. Pair them up with the buah long long juice. Epic match. But personally I think T3 the gurney drive more delicious.

Leave a Reply

