Pumpkin is actually a fruit.

I always had a distant relationship with pumpkin. Its just like how you would stay away from squash or parsnip. Rare commodities that you would find on your daily meal. But this was before I came face-to-face with the fruit. Twice.

When I ordered this dessert dish to try, I honestly had no expectation. It was based on a recommendation. So, the skeptical me only took half of a piece to taste. But ho and behold, I had no idea that I would be stuffing my face with seconds. Or more than that. Baked from a pumpkin paste, the pancake possesses a mild level of sweetness from the fruit, topped off with a fine layer of icing sugar. Sweet but not too sweet. Definitely one of the best desserts I have ever tried in a Chinese restaurant.

Pumpkin Pancakes
Paradise Dynasty, Ion Orchard

Like I said, I was never a big fan of pumpkin, before I had the pumpkin dessert at Paradise Dynasty, so here I am having a try at another variation of the orange fruit. 

I was caught by surprise by the mild sweetness of the soup, boosted by a light tasting broth. Smooth and creamy, it not only whets your appetite but keeps you wanting for more. 

Pumpkin Soup (Order with their Set Lunch)
Bakerzin
Jurong Point

3 thoughts on “Pumpkin is actually a fruit.”

Leave a Reply

